Skip to content


September 29, 2019


Aram Demirjian, conductor
Edward Pulgar, violin
Kathryn Gawne, viola

The Chamber Classics Series begins an eclectic season with a program about transition and transformation. Highlighting the program is Tchaikovsky’s Chamber Symphony No. 1, a new version of his much beloved String Quartet No. 1, scored now for orchestra by American composer Christopher Theofanidis. The program opens with a sonic journey by Knoxville composer Dosia McKay called Unveiling, which begins with a single note, morphs into a seemingly infinite sea of polyphony and returns to where it began. At the heart of the program lies Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante, composed at a time of transition in young Mozart’s life following the death of his mother and the beginning of his most mature period of composition.

At the Bijou Theatre, 803 S. Gay Street, Knoxville, TN 37902. Tickets and information: 865-291-3310,